About Me

Hey everyone .. just wanted to share a brief overview about who I am.

I have a bit of a mixed background; my dad is from Saudi Arabia & mom is from Newfoundland … not a lot of people know where Newfoundland is , well it is the most eastern province in Canada.
I lived in Saudi Arabia for about 18 years of my life , at which point I had graduated high school and decided that I wanted to experience Newfoundland a little more… Thus, I packed my bags and headed to good o’l St.John’s, NL to get a university education and spend time with my Canadian family.

At the end of my 1st year of uni, I was diagnosed with Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS). IBS is a common disorder that affects the bowels (hence the name). Not only did I get diagnosed with IBS, the doctors found out that I had an undiagnosed case of Iron deficiency Anemia (that I had for years before being diagnosed). Being diagnosed with these made me aware of my eating habits and that I was in desperate need of change !

I decreased/eliminated most of IBS triggers such as:

  • Refined breads and cereals
  • Refined foods such as chips and cookies
  • Caffiene drinks such as coffee & carbonated drinks.
  • fatty greasy deep fried food
  • Dairy products, especially cheese and milk
  • sugar products

Eliminating certain foods wasn’t enough of course , I started making an effort towards becoming all organic, gluten free and lactose free. In addition to upping the intake of foods rich in iron.

Fast forward a little , I recently graduated with a B.Sc in Biology and plan on pursuing medicine some time in the future.

Throughout my studies , I used baking as my stress reliever and found myself at times procrastinating with baking. It didn’t matter if I had assignments, midterms, finals or little sleep , I always made my way back to the mixing bowl and baking sheets. Stress didn’t go away that fast of course so most times I ended up baking WAY too much goods for 3 people (my brothers and I lived together)…. Being the person I am , I always made little goodie tubs/plates for friends and family. Thus, I got nicknamed Martha stewart by the Biology society at my university and stress baker by friends and family members. Martha stewart is already taken by the lady herself so I decided to start this blog with the best nickname I was ever given “Stress Baker”.

All recipes & photos that will be on this blog have been written/taken by me unless otherwise stated.

Feel free to email me at stressed baker@gmail.com or follow me on Instagram & twitter @stressed_baker.

xo,

Stressed baker (or Mariann :P).

COMMENT